The Eye-Pire Strikes Back: NaNoWriMo/NaBloPoMo day 21

Total word count goal: 50,000

Total blog post goal: 30

Today’s word count: 2,079

Today’s blog count: 22

Total words written: 35,902

Total blog posts: 22

 

I never realized how much light there was in the world, until today.

I wear contact lenses, and something (dust?) got lodged beneath my right contact lens earlier today while I was out, and wouldn’t go away. I removed my contacts when I got home, but my right eye continued to water and turned bloodshot. And light was almost unbearable.

The verdict from my eye doctor: corneal abrasion.

The good news is that corneal abrasions are usually very minor, and heal themselves within 1-2 days. The bad news: nothing I can really be done about them until they do. There is no magic ointment, pill, shot, etc. that will cure it. Oh, and it goes without saying that I should not put my contacts in until it’s better.  And don’t cover the eye up, like I’m a bootleg extra on Pirates of the Caribbean.

One of the symptoms of a corneal abrasion, in addition to lots of eye tearing-up, runny nose (feels almost like a cold sinus infection coming on), and occasional headache, is sensitivity to light. And I mean SENSITIVE. As in, I am typing this entry while wearing the darkest pair of sunglasses that I own (in the house, at night); I look like Ray Charles, albeit a bit more stylish and with a laptop instead of a piano. :).

 Me shades corneal abrasion 112114

The brightness levels on my laptop and smartphone screens have been turned down as far as I could while managing to still see the screen. You never really understand all the jargon about screen clarity and optics until you have an eye injury. The lights in the room where I’m writing are turned low. It hurts to read a regular book, but not as much as trying to read an e-book. It hurts to close my eye; it hurts NOT to close my eye. Mind you, the hurt is not the “OMG I just got stabbed in the eye” level of pain; it’s more of an annoying pain, like heartburn. Which still hurts, too.

This sucks.

Still, I am blessed that the injury is minor, and I won’t lose my sight or anything drastic. One of these days, I’m going to invest in LASIK surgery so I won’t have to deal with this foolishness (or, at least, my chances of having to do so will be drastically decreased).

I managed to write over 2,000 words today, which is great. But now it’s time to rest my eyes, which are feeling better but still easily tired. I hope everyone is still moving along on their writing and blogging. Enjoy the start of the weekend!

Thanks for stopping by.

 

Aside

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. empeck
    Nov 21, 2014 @ 23:40:00

    Oh, ouch. That sounds absolutely miserable. Hope you heal up soon. Kudos on keeping up with your writing though!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

